Supported Missions

Here is a list of some of the missions we support locally and around the world.

Cancer Resource Centre –  www.cancerresourcecentre.com

Supports cancer patients and their families.

Church World Services –  www.cwsglobal.org
Seventeen denominations came together to form an agency “to do in partnership what none of us could hope to do as well alone.” The mission: Feed the hungry, clothe the naked, heal the sick, comfort the aged, shelter the homeless.

Geneva Center – www.genevacenter.org
Our Presbyterian Camp and Conference Center in Rochester, IN

Greater Hammond Community Services, Inc. – www.greaterhammond.com

Assistance and food for those in need.

Habitat for Humanity of NW Indiana – www.nwihabitat.org
Provides affordable homes for the working poor with “sweat equity. Shop the ReStore in Gary, IN!

Haven House – www.havenhouse.org
A shelter and advocacy for women and children of domestic violence. Haven House representatives are invited to “shop” our June Rummage Sale in advance to select items for the women and children they serve.

Heart for Africa – www.heartforafrica.org
A faith-based non-profit 501(c)3 charity. Working alongside churches in Swaziland, they are providing care and hope for the future for children in this small African nation.

Hospice of the Calumet Area – www.hospicecalumet.org
Care for those at the end stage of life.

Kemmerer Village – http://www.kemmerervillage.org
As a Presbyterian Child Care Agency, our mission at Kemmerer Village is to provide a wide range of quality services, which meet the needs of children, youth and their families. Programs are directed to help children and youth attain the necessary skills to become well-adjusted and productive members of society.

Living Waters –  https://www.livingwatersfortheworld.org/
We support Living Waters for the World, an organization committed to providing sustainable clean water and fostering long term, mutually beneficial relationships between volunteers and communities in need.  Five of our Living Waters mission team have attended Clean Water University for training. We participate in mission trips in cooperation with Living Water World Missions, currently focusing on installations in Guatemala.  Groups of 8-14 volunteers install clean water systems, teach health and hygiene, and bring the good news of Jesus Christ utilizing the training model from Clean Water University. http://www.livingwaterworldmissions.org Please contact us if you would like more information about this vital ministry.

Malawi Matters – www.malawimatters.org
Malawi Matters is a 501(c)3 organization that provides educational programs on HIV & AIDS for the 1.5 million adult members of the 180 congregations of the Church of Central Africa Presbyterian Nkhoma Synod (central region of the country) and the 748 primary and secondary schools plus the villages in which they are located.

McCormick Theological Seminary – www.mccormick.edu
Seminary education for aspiring pastors, Christian Educators, and Pastoral Counselors at the University of Chicago.

Nazareth Home – www.nazarethhome.com
Care for at-risk infants

One Great Hour of Sharing – www.presbyterianmission.org/ministries/specialofferings/one-great-hour-sharing-offering
Lenten offering benefiting the Presbyterian Hunger Program, Self- Development of People, and Presbyterian Disaster Assistance.

Pentecost Offering – www.presbyterianmission.org/ministries/specialofferings/pentecost-offering/
Encourage, develop and support young people, as well as provide assistance to at-risk children.

Presbyterian Mission Agency – www.presbyterianmission.org
Learn about Presbyterian ministries around the world.

Presbyterian Peacemaking Offering – www.presbyterianmission.org/ministries/specialofferings/peacemaking-offering
Teaching and fostering peacemaking, non-violence, anti-bullying initiatives worldwide. In 2012 our share of the offering supported Nandini Sadagopan’s to build a well with clean, potable water in a remote village in India through The Water Project. The offering is collected on the first Sunday of October each year.

St. Andrews Society – Emergency relief for individuals and families in our church family and community

St. Monica Home –http://www.franciscanalliance.org/hospitals/dyer/services/women/Pages/stmonica-home.aspx
A home for unwed pregnant women and children located in Dyer, IN

Sojourner Truth House – www.sojournertruthhouse.org
A day shelter and advocacy in Gary, IN for women and children of domestic violence.